Anna Agbe-Davies


Associate Professor
agbe-davies@unc.edu
919-962-5267

 

Historical archaeology, plantation societies of the colonial southeastern US and Caribbean, towns and cities of the 19th and 20th century Midwest, African diaspora.

**On Leave Spring 2019**



Lorraine V. Aragon


Adjunct Associate Professor (with Department of Asian Studies)
aragon2@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-7562

 

Anthropology of religion, intellectual property law, and arts production; (post)colonialism, ethnic minorities and state relations; global connections and heritage nationalism; migration and conflict; language and media; subsistence and sustainability; health; gendered experiences; Southeast Asia, Indonesia.



Benjamin Arbuckle


Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
bsarbu@email.unc.edu


 

Near Eastern Archaeology, Turkey, origins and evolution of animal economies, animals in complex societies



Florence E Babb


Harrington Distinguished Professor
fbabb@unc.edu
(919) 962-1242

 

Cultural/economic/feminist anthropology; gender, race, and sexuality; critical development studies; urbanization in the global South; tourism studies; Latin American studies; Central Andes, Central America.

 



Brian Billman


Associate Professor
bbillman@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-9348

 

Archaeology of Chiefdoms and States, Political Economy, Human Violence, the Evolution of Human Behavior, Heritage Preservation, Settlement Pattern Analysis, the prehistory of the Andes and the American Southwest



Jocelyn Lim Chua


Associate Professor
jlchua@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1145

 

Anthropologies and politics of health and well-being; globalization of psychiatry; mental health and illness; politics of life and death; suicide; ontologies of the body; kinship and care; South Asia; Kerala



Rudi Colloredo-Mansfeld


Professor
rudi-colloredo@unc.edu


 

Indigenous peoples, artisan economies, competition, commodities, consumer cultures, producer associations, local food systems



Glenn D Hinson


Associate Professor
ghinson@unc.edu
(919) 962-1661

 

Ethnography, Belief Studies, Folklife, Public Folklore, Trauma-Informed Ethnographic Practice, Experience-Centered Anthropology, African American Expressive Culture, Vernacular Poetry, Vernacular Art; African Diaspora, The North American South

 



Dale L Hutchinson


Professor and Associate Chair
dhutchin@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-3844

 

Bioarchaeology; Human Osteology; Forensic Anthropology; Paleopathology; Health and Nutrition; Agricultural Origins and Consequences; Southeastern and Mid-Atlantic United States; South America



Martha King


Teaching Assistant Professor
marthae@live.unc.edu


 

Ontologies of the body; belief systems; cultures of biomedicine; genomics & society / ELSI; clinical encounters; epistemologies of pluralism; identity; folk practice; Anabaptists, the Amish; the US South



Valerie Lambert


Associate Professor
vlambert@unc.edu
(919) 843-7808

 

American Indians; tribal sovereignty; tribal nation building and tribal governance; federal-tribal relations and tribal-state relations; bureaucracy and the U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs

**On Leave Spring 2019**



Paul W Leslie


Pardue Distinguished Professor and Chair (Fall 2018 semester)
pwleslie@unc.edu
(919) 962-1564

Biological Anthropology, Human Ecology, Demography, Population Genetics, Reproduction, East Africa



Patricia A. McAnany


Kenan Eminent Professor and Chair
mcanany@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-8978

 

Cultural Heritage and Indigenous Communities; Ancestor Veneration; Archaeological Understanding of Detachment from Place; Cultural Logic of Noncapitalist Economies; Identity and Gender Constructs; Cacao Production and Use; Social Reproduction of Technology; Maya Studies; Archaeology of Mesoamerica.

**On Leave Fall 2018**



Townsend Middleton


Associate Professor
ctm22@email.unc.edu
919 962-2683

 

Political Anthropology;  Recognition, Autonomy, Belonging;  Bureaucracy & the State; Chokepoints, Logistics and Infrastructure; Cinchona/Quinine; Colonialism & Postcolonial Theory; South Asia; Himalayas, India

**On Leave Spring 2019**



Christopher T Nelson


Associate Professor
ctnelson@email.unc.edu


 

History and Memory; Everyday Life; Ethnography; Critical Theory; Storytelling, Ritual and Performance; Japan and Okinawa

**On Leave Fall 2018**



Donald M Nonini


Professor
donald.nonini@unc.edu
(919) 962-8092

 

Urban anthropology; political anthropology; anthropology of the state; class, race, ethnic and gender inequalities; global systems and transnationalism; the urban commons; Chinese in Southeast Asia; China; the southern U.S.



Charles Price


Associate Professor
cprice1@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-7809

 

Identity formation; social movements; race; community organizations and organizing, life narrative genres; action research; community collaborations; Jamaica; United States.

 



Peter Redfield


Professor
redfield@unc.edu
(919) 843-7807

 

Anthropology of Science,Technology and Medicine; Humanitarianism and Human Rights; Colonial History; Ethics, Nongovernmental Organizations and Transnational Experts; Europe; French Guiana; Uganda; South Africa

**On Leave Fall 2018**



Michele Rivkin-Fish


Associate Professor
mrfish@unc.edu


 

Medical anthropology, moral economies of medicine and health, gender and health, reproductive politics, health care reform, Russia, United States

**On Leave Spring 2019**



C. Margaret Scarry


Professor, Chair of Curriculum in Archaeology, and Director of Research Labs of Archaeology
scarry@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-3841

 

Archaeology, Paleoethnobotany, Subsistence Economies, Foodways, North America, Greek Aegean, Complex Societies



John F. Scarry


Research Associate Professor
jfscarry@email.unc.edu


 

Archaeology; North America; Chiefdoms, Colonial encounters, Identity constructions, Public archaeology



Karla Slocum


Associate Professor; Director, Institute of African American Research; Thomas Willis Lambeth Distinguished Chair in Public Policy
kslocum@unc.edu
(919) 962-2438

 

Place, Race and History; Globalization; Rurality; Social Movements; the Caribbean; the U.S. Southwest



Sandy Smith-Nonini


Adjunct Assistant Professor
scsmith@email.unc.edu
(919) 286-7396

 

Global Studies, Sustainability, Cooperation, Systems/Complexity Theory, Social Movements, Politics of Health, Farm Labor, Latin American Studies; El Salvador



Mark Sorensen


Associate Professor
msorensen@unc.edu
(919) 962-3280

 

Biological Anthropology; Health and Culture Change; Adaptability; Energetics; Nutrition; Russia; Siberia; Ecuador



Laurie C. Steponaitis


Adjunct Assistant Professor
lcs@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-3846

 

Archaeology, Hunter-Gatherers, Regional Survey, Settlement Patterns, Coastal Adaptations, Shellfish Analysis, Eastern North America.



Vincas P Steponaitis


Professor
Vin@unc.edu
(919) 962-6574

 

Archaeology, Political Economy, Chiefdoms, Quantitative Methods, North America.

 



Angela Stuesse


Assistant Professor
astuesse@unc.edu
(919) 843-7393

 

Neoliberal globalization; race, ethnicity, and identity; migration; human rights; labor; methodologies of activist research; the U.S. South and Southwest; Latino and Latin America; Equatorial Guinea

 



Amanda Thompson


Associate Professor
althomps@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-2060

 

Biomedical anthropology, nutrition, human biology, early life determinants of body composition and obesity, infant and child feeding

**On Leave Fall 2018**



Silvia Tomášková


Professor of Anthropology, Professor and Chair of Women's & Gender Studies
tomas@unc.edu
(919) 962-3908

 

Archaeological method and theory, history of archaeology; Social and gender archaeology; Archaeology and nationalism, the state, and politics; Gender and science, women in scientific professions and society; Old World prehistory, Paleolithic archaeology, Central and Eastern European archaeology; Prehistoric imagery, theories of symbolic representation; Stone tool analysis (low and high-power use-wear).



Colin Thor West


Associate Professor
ctw@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-5588

 

Human ecology, households, climate change, social-ecological systems, Sahelian West Africa, and sustainable livelihoods



Margaret J Wiener


Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
mjwiener@unc.edu
(919) 962-2399

 

Actor Network Theory, Ontology, and Science Studies; History and Memory; Magic; Human and Animal Relations; Colonial Societies; Southeast Asia, Indonesia, Bali.