Dr. Anna Agbe-Davies, Associate Professor of Anthropology

Anna Agbe-Davies


Associate Professor
agbe-davies at unc dot edu
919-962-5267

 

Historical archaeology, plantation societies of the colonial southeastern US and Caribbean, towns and cities of the 19th and 20th century Midwest, African diaspora.



Dr. Benjamin Arbuckle

Benjamin Arbuckle


Assistant Professor
bsarbu@email.unc.edu
919-966-8964

 

Near Eastern Archaeology, Turkey, origins and evolution of animal economies, animals in complex societies



FB photochair

Florence E Babb


Harrington Distinguished Professor
fbabb@unc.edu
(919) 962-1242

 

Cultural/economic/feminist anthropology; gender, race, and sexuality; critical development studies; urbanization in the global South; tourism studies; Latin American studies; Central America, Central Andes, Caribbean



Billman

Brian Billman


Associate Professor
bbillman@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-9348

 

Archaeology of Chiefdoms and States, Political Economy, Human Violence, the Evolution of Human Behavior, Heritage Preservation, Settlement Pattern Analysis, the prehistory of the Andes and the American Southwest



chua

Jocelyn Lim Chua


Assistant Professor
jlchua@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1564

 

Anthropologies and politics of health and well-being; globalization of psychiatry; mental health and illness; politics of life and death; suicide; ontologies of the body; kinship and care; South Asia; Kerala



colloredo-mansfeld

Rudi Colloredo-Mansfeld


Professor and Chair
rudi-colloredo@unc.edu
(919) 843-8978

 

Indigenous peoples, artisan economies, competition, commodities, consumer cultures, producer associations, local food systems



Escobar

Arturo Escobar


Kenan Distinguished Professor
aescobar@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-7392

 

Political ecology, anthropology of development, social movements, science and technology studies, pluriversal studies, anthropology of design, Latin America, Colombia.



Hinson

Glenn D Hinson


Associate Professor
ghinson@unc.edu
(919) 962-1661

 

Ethnography, Belief Studies, Folklife, Public Folklore, Trauma-Informed Ethnographic Practice, Experience-Centered Anthropology, African American Expressive Culture, Vernacular Poetry, Vernacular Art; African Diaspora, The North American South



Dr. Dale Hutchinson

Dale L Hutchinson


Professor
dhutchin@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-3844

 

Bioarchaeology; Human Osteology; Forensic Anthropology; Paleopathology; Health and Nutrition; Agricultural Origins and Consequences; Southeastern and Mid-Atlantic United States; South America



Lambert

Valerie Lambert


Associate Professor
vlambert@unc.edu
(919) 843-7808

 

American Indians; tribal sovereignty; tribal nation building and tribal governance; federal-tribal relations and tribal-state relations; bureaucracy and the U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs



PWL in Simanjiro

Paul W Leslie


Professor
pwleslie@unc.edu
(919) 962-1564

 

Biological Anthropology, Human Ecology, Demography, Population Genetics, Reproduction, East Africa



mcanany

Patricia A. McAnany


Kenan Eminent Professor
mcanany@email.unc.edu
(919)-962-0524

 

Cultural Heritage and Indigenous Communities; Ancestor Veneration; Archaeological Understanding of Detachment from Place; Cultural Logic of Noncapitalist Economies; Identity and Gender Constructs; Cacao Production and Use; Social Reproduction of Technology; Maya Studies; Archaeology of Mesoamerica.



TM 2

Townsend Middleton


Assistant Professor
ctm22@email.unc.edu
919 962-2683

 

Political Anthropology; Anthropology of Knowledge; Recognition, Belonging, and Autonomy; Subnationalist Politics; the State; Affect and Anxiety; Post/Colonialism; South Asia; India; Nepal



Nelson Image

Christopher T Nelson


Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
ctnelson@email.unc.edu
(919) 619-9105

 

History and Memory; Everyday Life; Ethnography; Critical Theory; Storytelling, Ritual and Performance; Japan and Okinawa



Nonini

Donald M Nonini


Professor
donald.nonini@unc.edu
(919) 962-8092

 

Urban anthropology; political anthropology; anthropology of the state; class, race, ethnic and gender inequalities; global systems and transnationalism; the urban commons; Chinese in Southeast Asia; China; the southern U.S.



price_charles_15_032

Charles Price


Associate Professor
cprice1@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-7809

 

Identity formation, social movements, community organizations and organizing, ethnographically-grounded oral and life history, and action research and collaborative research projects.



redfield

Peter Redfield


Professor
redfield@unc.edu
(919) 843-7807

 

Anthropology of Science,Technology and Medicine; Humanitarianism and Human Rights; Colonial History; Ethics, Nongovernmental Organizations and Transnational Experts; Europe; French Guiana; Uganda; South Africa



rivkin

Michele Rivkin-Fish


Associate Professor and Associate Chair
mrfish@unc.edu
(919) 962-1145

 

Medical anthropology, moral economies of medicine and health, gender and health, reproductive politics, health care reform, Russia, United States



ScarryM

C. Margaret Scarry


Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies for Anthropology and the Curriculum in Archaeology
scarry@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-3841

Archaeology, Paleoethnobotany, Subsistence Economies, Foodways, North America, Greek Aegean, Complex Societies



Slocum Photo

Karla Slocum


Associate Professor and Director of Institute of African American Research
kslocum@unc.edu
(919) 962-2438

 

Place, Race and History; Globalization; Rurality; Social Movements; the Caribbean; the U.S. Southwest



Sorensen

Mark Sorensen


Associate Professor
msorensen@unc.edu
(919) 962-3280

 

Biological Anthropology; Health and Culture Change; Adaptability; Energetics; Nutrition; Russia; Siberia; Ecuador



SteponaitisV

Vincas P Steponaitis


Professor and Director of Research Labs of Archaeology
Vin@unc.edu
(919) 962-6574

 

Archaeology, Political Economy, Chiefdoms, Quantitative Methods, North America.



Amanda Thompson_3_by mark derewicz

Amanda Thompson


Associate Professor
althomps@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-2060

 

Biomedical anthropology, nutrition, human biology, early life determinants of body composition and obesity, infant and child feeding



tomas

Silvia Tomášková


Professor of Anthropology, Professor and Chair of Women's & Gender Studies
tomas@unc.edu
(919) 962-3908

 

Archaeological method and theory, history of archaeology; Social and gender archaeology; Archaeology and nationalism, the state, and politics; Gender and science, women in scientific professions and society; Old World prehistory, Paleolithic archaeology, Central and Eastern European archaeology; Prehistoric imagery, theories of symbolic representation; Stone tool analysis (low and high-power use-wear).



West

Colin Thor West


Assistant Professor
ctw@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-5588

 

Human ecology of global change



Wiener

Margaret J Wiener


Associate Professor
mjwiener@unc.edu
(919) 962-2399

 

Actor Network Theory, Ontology, and Science Studies; History and Memory; Magic; Human and Animal Relations; Colonial Societies; Southeast Asia, Indonesia, Bali.